[blogtober] ANTICIPATED RELEASES ~ October

Waiting on Wednesday

It’s Wednesday, which means two memes are going on. Waiting on Wednesday and WWW Wednesday. Depending on the time I have, I’ll be posting my WWW Wednesday or not, but.. in any case.. I’ll be sharing the October releases I’m looking forward to!

Compiling this post was.. a struggle in a way. As you all know, I’ve been quite absent from the blogging community the past months – motherhood can do that to a person, right? – so.. One of the consequences is my ignorance concerning new releases. I’m out of the loop. Like, really out of the loop! Conclusion? The research needed for this post is going to make me crazy since I’ll be adding way too many books to my TBR and wishlist. But.. whatever right. That’s what we’re bookworms for!

So, I’m going to dive into those upcoming releases.. now! Let’s see how many awesome books I find!

[This post is based on Anniek and Hâf‘s Blogtober posting challenge!]

BOOKS I REALLY WANT TO READ RIGHT NOW
Covers link back to their Goodreads-page

The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)VAMPIRES?! YES PLEASE. I already knew of this release but.. it’s the only one, really. The Beautiful will be published on October 8!

“In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s leader, the enigmatic Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in the lair of La Cour des Lions, Celine battles her attraction to him and suspicions about Sébastien’s guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.

When more bodies are discovered, each crime more gruesome than the last, Celine and New Orleans become gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose—one Celine is sure has set her in his sights . . . and who may even be the young man who has stolen her heart. As the murders continue to go unsolved, Celine takes matters into her own hands and soon uncovers something even more shocking: an age-old feud from the darkest creatures of the underworld reveals a truth about Celine she always suspected simmered just beneath the surface.”

Standaard

JackpotNic Stone? Do I have to say more? Give me this! I will expect this book on my doorstep on October 15, guys. Just saying. Someone give it to me!

“Meet Rico: high school senior and afternoon-shift cashier at the Gas ‘n’ Go, who after school and work races home to take care of her younger brother. Every. Single. Day. When Rico sells a jackpot-winning lotto ticket, she thinks maybe her luck will finally change, but only if she–with some assistance from her popular and wildly rich classmate Zan–can find the ticket holder who hasn’t claimed the prize. But what happens when have and have-nots collide? Will this investigative duo unite…or divide?”

 

Standaard

Twice in a Blue MoonI’m a sucker for Christina Lauren’s writing so.. consider me sold on this one – easily! Being released on October 22, I might just have to get preorder myself a copy, right?

“Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.”

Standaard

A River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1)The Goodreads-page starts off with “An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone…”and they had me at that. I loved that book. Although I don’t really love the author that much anymore. This one releases on October 29!

“Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood–a dark and terrible magick that hasn’t been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina’s long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne–because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye–and it isn’t just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa’s death or her own.”

Standaard

These are the four books that grabbed my attention most. Apparently I’m still all about fantasy and contemporary, haha! I do have an ARC of The Beautiful, but that doesn’t mean I won’t be getting myself a physical copy. As for the others.. I’m serious. Gift me one or two or all three. Please?

Anyway. What do you think?
Which one would you prefer to get on your doorstep on its release day?
Or is there another release you’re looking forward to even more?

Nametag

twitterinstagramgoodreadsfacebookbloglovinamazon

19 thoughts on “[blogtober] ANTICIPATED RELEASES ~ October

  1. Kathy there are no words for how excited I am for The Beautiful. I’m being a massively patient person and waiting for the book to arrive at the library (don’t ask me how I’m managing this, I have NO clue) but omg omg omg every cell of my being is ready for that book.

    Like

  2. Yes, actually! I can’t wait to get “Shadows of Winterspell” by Amy Wilson. I love her books so much and I fell almost off my chair when I saw that there will be a new one. Also, the new illustrated Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is coming. It’s gonna be soo prrrrettyyy…😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s.. complicated, I guess? I’m going to post the entire story on the blog, I think but for now:
      He had meningitis, which is gone now but he’s having issues using his right arm. He’s in pain, barely uses it and whenever someone tries lifting it, he tries getting away. So now there are all kinds of tests and scans and whatnot to find the cause of that.. We’re not out of the hospital yet..

      Like

  3. I’ve heard nothing but good things about Christina Lauren’s writing, I really need to grab one of her books one of these days!

    (And yes, motherhood is to blame for all of our lost time… even when the kids are mostly grown and sorta-self-sufficient.)

    Like

    1. Now that’s one heck of a rec! I’m going to have to keep an eye out for her stuff on sale now. 🙂

      [We can try! They’re good kids, but man, give mama five minutes! hahaha]

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.